Skip to main content
Rubens

Rubens

He was capable of everything and knew everything. He was a brilliant and versatile artist, run a large studio, spoke several languages, collected art, designed his own home, travelled around Europe as a diplomat and was interested in science. Rubens was well-versed in almost everything.

Rubens

His life

Probably nobody could have predicted predict when Peter Paul Rubens was born in the sixteenth century that his name would resonate well into the twenty-first century. Then again Rubens never went out of fashion in the last 400 years. He is probably one of the most versatile artists ever.

De wandeling in de tuin

The family man

Rubens was world-famous in his own time. In spite of his many activities, he was also a real family man. He experienced intense moments of domestic bliss. But there was more to Rubens's life than fortune and glory.

Beeldenmuseum

The collector

The greatest collection in all of Antwerp

Rubens had an eye for quality. He was also an excellent businessman, qualities which prove quite useful to this passionate collector. His art collection was the largest in Europe. And many eminent people from all over Europe wanted to see his collection in person.

De kruisafneming

The artist

"Als het leven van Peter Paul Rubens in een woord moet worden samengevat, dan is dat woord ‘kracht’. Zijn kunst is getekend door vitaliteit en hartstocht. De kern van de grandioze barokstijl. Zijn meer dan duizend schilderijen zijn een monumentale presentatie. En dit was slechts een van zijn talenten.” (C.V.Wedgwood. The World of Rubens).

Detail uit de Kunstkamer van Cornelis van der Geest

The celebrity

The most sought out painter of Europe.

Today Rubens is probably Antwerp's most famous inhabitants ever. But it was no different during his lifetime. Rubens was the most sought out painter of Europe

Rubens

His personality

Not much is known about Rubens's personality. His contemporaries describe him as an extremely charming and likeable man, with excellent manners.

The studio

Rubens had a well-organised studio with several assistants. They worked in Rubens's style allowing him to complete the many commissions he received on time thanks to them.

Skip to main content
Rubens

Rubens

Il savait tout et pouvait tout faire. C’était un homme brillant, un artiste aux multiples talents, il dirigeait un grand atelier, parlait plusieurs langues, collectionnait de l’art, avait dessiné sa propre maison, effectuait des missions diplomatiques dans toute l’Europe et s’intéressait à la science. Rubens était un homme complet.

Rubens

Sa vie

Personne ne pouvait sans doute imaginer à la naissance de Pierre Paul Rubens au 16e siècle que son nom continuerait à résonner cinq siècles plus tard.

De wandeling in de tuin

l’Homme de famille

Rubens jouit d’une renommée mondiale de son vivant. Mais en dépit de ses nombreuses activités professionnelles, c’est aussi un homme de famille. Il connaît d’intenses moments de bonheur domestique. Mais la vie ne lui réserve pas que la fortune et la gloire.

Beeldenmuseum

Le collectionneur

La plus grande collection d’Anvers

Rubens a non seulement un flair certain pour la qualité. C’est aussi un excellent homme d’affaires. Voilà deux talents qui servent parfaitement sa passion de la collection. Sa collection d’art est la plus grande d’Anvers et les grands de toute l’Europe sont curieux de la voir.

Rubens

Sa personnalité

On ne sait pas grand-chose sur la personnalité de Rubens. Il est décrit par ses contemporains comme un homme charmant et engageant et aux excellentes manières.

De kruisafneming

l’Artiste

"Si la vie de Pierre Paul Rubens devait être résumée en un mot, ce mot serait ‘force’. Son art est marqué par la vitalité et la passion. Le cœur du grandiose style baroque. Ses plus de mille toiles constituent une présentation monumentale. Et ce n’est là qu’un de ses talents.” (C.V. Wedgwood. L’univers de Rubens).

Detail uit de Kunstkamer van Cornelis van der Geest

La célébrité

Le peintre le plus recherché d’Europe

Rubens est aujourd’hui un des plus célèbres habitants qu’Anvers n’ait jamais connus. Il n’en fut pas autrement de son vivant car Rubens était alors le peintre le plus recherché d’Europe.

l’Atelier

Rubens dirige son propre atelier à la Maison Rubens. C’est même le plus grand d’Europe. Et c’est nécessaire car il y a une très forte demande pour ses toiles.